Service Availability

T9-1-1 will be made available in specific areas when the appropriate network upgrades have been completed. Please check this section of the Web site regularly as it will be updated as the T9-1-1 service becomes available. Note that registration is available nationally, however the T9-1-1 service is currently available only in the following areas:


  • City of Calgary – City of Calgary, Bighorn Municipal District, Kananaskis Improvement District and Rocky View Municipal District. (City of Calgary Public Safety Communications Call Area)

British Columbia

  • Metro Vancouver – City of Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, City of North Vancouver, District of North Vancouver, Bowen Island Municipality, Village of Lions Bay, City of Burnaby, City of New West, City of Port Moody, Village of Anmore, Village of Belcarra, City of Coquitlam, City of Port Coquitlam, City of Pitt Meadows, District of Maple Ridge, City of Richmond, Corporation of Delta, City of Surrey, Township of Langley, City of Langley, City of Whiterock, and Electoral Area A (University of BC, University Endowment Lands, Barnston Island, Howe Sound Communities (Ocean Point, Strachan Point, Montizambert Wynd, Bowyer Island and Passage Island), and Indian Arm / Pitt Lake Communities (Boulder Island, Carraholly Point, Northern Portion of Indian Arm and West side of Pitt Lake). (E-Comm 9-1-1 Call Area)
  • Squamish Lilloet Regional District South – District of Squamish, Resort Municipality of Whistler, Village of Pemberton, Electoral Area C (Pemberton Meadows, Mt. Currie, D’Arcy Corridor, Whistler-Pemberton Corridor), and Electoral Area D (Furry Creek, Brittania, Porteau, Upper Squamish, Upper Cheakamus, Ring Creek, Pinecrest/Black Tusk Village). (E-Comm 9-1-1 Call Area)
  • Sunshine Coast Regional District – Egmont, Pender Harbour, Halfmoon Bay, Roberts Creek, Elphinstone, West Howe Sound, District of Sechelt and Town of Gibsons. (E-Comm 9-1-1 Call Area)


  • Text with 9-1-1 is available in most areas of Manitoba. For a complete list of municipalities that offer T9-1-1 click here.

New Brunswick

(Not currently available)

Nova Scotia

  • Text with 9-1-1 is available province-wide in Nova Scotia.


  • City of Guelph
  • City of Kingston – Frontenac Islands Twp.
  • City of TorontoToronto
  • City of Windsor – Windsor
  • Halton Region – City of Burlington, Town of Halton Hills, Town of Oakville and Town of Milton
  • Peel Region – City of Brampton, City of Mississauga and the Town of Caledon (Peel Regional Police Call Area)
  • Thunder Bay – Fort William First Nation, Conmee Twp., Fowler Twp., Gillies Twp., Gorham Twp., Jacques Twp., Lybster Twp., Marks Twp., Neebing Twp., O’Connor Twp., Shuniah Twp., Strange Twp., Ware Twp., Oliver Paipoonge
  • Waterloo Region – City of Cambridge, City of Kitchener, North Dumfries Twp., City of Waterloo, Wellesley Twp., Wilmot Twp., Woolwich Twp.
  • York Region – Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King Twp., Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan, Whitchurch-Stouffville

Prince Edward Island

(Not currently available)


(Not currently available)


(Not currently available)

Enhanced 9-1-1 has not yet been deployed in the following provinces/territories and are therefore currently ineligible for T9-1-1 service:

  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nunavut
  • Yukon